DAWSON COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS AND REGISTRATION

Minutes of Regular Meeting

Thursday, January 19, 2023

Chairperson, Glenda Ferguson, opened the meeting of the Board of Elections and Registration at 9:00 A.M. on Thursday, January 19, 2023 at the Board of Elections Office at 96 Academy Avenue with a roll call of Board Members: Marie Head, Katrina Holbrook, Dale Holland, and Dan Pichon. Julia Hansen, reporter for Dawson County News, staff member Rachelle Hanlon and new Board member Paul McComiskey were present, along with Judge Bert for swearing in of the Board members for the new terms of office.

Minutes:

December 9, 2022 motion to correct the minutes to read the runoff review by the Board pointed out inside space issues, as well as outside lighting problems at Fire Station #2, by Mr. Holland, seconded by Mrs. Head and passed 5-0. Motion to accept the minutes as corrected by Mr. Holland, seconded by Mr. McComiskey and passed 5-0.

Reports:

The December Budget and December Key Note Indicator reports were reviewed by the Board. As of December 1, 2022, the County has 22,578 active voters, and 2,108 inactive voters for a total of 24,686 registered voters.

Unfinished Business:

The GARVIS small regional training with staff worked better than the large Conference training.

New Business:

The Board, under the new legislation, elected its own officers. Mr. Pichon moved that Mr. Holland serve as Chairman, seconded by Mr. McComiskey and passed 4-0. Mr. Pichon moved that Mrs. Head serve as Vice Chair, seconded by Mr. McComiskey and passed 4-0. Mr. Holland moved Mr. Pichon serve as Secretary, seconded by Mrs. Holbrook and passed 4-0.

The L & A testing for the January 31, 2023 Special Election Runoff for HD 7 will start January 19, 2023 at 9:00 A.M. Certification of the election results will take place February 3, 2023 at 4:00 P.M.

The Board discussed the need for another voting location.

Next meeting, February 23, 2023.

Executive Session:

Mrs. Head moved to go into executive session to discuss a personnel issue, seconded by Mr. McComiskey and passed 5-0 at 10:51 A.M. Mr. Holland moved to end executive session, seconded by Mrs. Head and passed 5-0 at 11:10 A.M.

Adjournment:

Mr. Holland moved adjournment, seconded by Mr. McComiskey and passed 5-0 at 11:11 A.M.