DAWSON COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS AND REGISTRATION

Minutes of Regular Meeting- corrected

Thursday October 20, 2022

Chairperson, Glenda Ferguson, opened the meeting of the Board of Elections and Registration at 9:31 A.M. on Thursday October 20, 2022 at the Board of Elections Office at 96 Academy Avenue with a roll call of Board Members: Marie Head, Katrina Holbrook, Dale Holland, and Dan Pichon. Staff member Rachelle Hanlon and guest Sheriff Jeff Johnson present.

Security of Elections:

Sheriff Johnson informed the Board of the latest information on the possible threats to the election process. He then outlined the measures he and his staff would be taking through early voting and during the day and night of election

Minutes:

September 15, 2022, Mr. Holland moved to accept the minutes as presented, seconded by Mrs. Holbrook, passed 5-0.

Reports:

The September budget and September Key Note Indicator reports were reviewed by the Board. As of September 1, 2022, the County has 21,722, active voters, and 2,535 inactive voters.

Unfinished Business:

NOCA & Cross State registration roll clean-up is an ongoing process. The Board did not receive a new staff position in the budget for 2023. Preparation for the November 8 General Election will include help with parking at Fire Station #2. The Board of Commissioners appointed the new fifth member of the Board of Elections, Mr. Paul McComiskey. Paul will join the Board starting in January for a four-year term.

New Business:

The Board will serve as the vote review panel for the November 8, 2022 General Election. Early opening of absentee ballots will begin Wednesday November 2, 2022. The Board will meet Monday afternoon, November 14, to certify the Election.

Executive Session:

Mrs. Head moved to enter executive session for a personnel issue, after a five-minute break, seconded Mr. Pichon at 10.55 am.

Mr. Holland moved to end executive session and return to regular meeting, seconded by Mrs. Head and passed 5-0 at 11:45 am.

Adjournment:

Mrs. Head moved adjournment, seconded by Mrs. Holbrook and passed 5-0 at 11:48 am.